/
/
University of Hull

3,358 University of Hull reviews

The annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards (WUSCAs) highlight the incredible work carried out by institutions for their students. This year’s awards were based on reviews from over 30,000 students across the UK.

2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.1)
  • University of Hull
BL
B L
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Business Management BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

The people here are quite diverse in not only culture but also come from all walks of life. It has been great to be able to connect and get to know so many new people as at University of Hull, though classes, clubs and society, they make the interactions so seamless. The saddest part is that I only have 1 year here, nevertheless this past year has truly been amazing! I found everything I came here for, the people, the fun times, the learning experience and the Hull atmosphere.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
R
Rhys
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Zoology BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

Nearing the end of my first year at the University of Hull, I can safely say that I have no regrets coming here. Its a great uni with great, knowledgeable staff who both enjoy what they're doing and want you to succeed as well as great facilities for learning, including the laboratories, aquarium and extensive library. The campus is a good mix of small with everything you'll need within walking distance and open with places to sit and study or talk with friends. Whilst I haven't used much of the student union, from what I have seen and used, it's a key asset for students and even has a Spar (although perhaps overpriced for a shop in the heart of a campus) and a Wetherspoons. Whilst the Spar can be expensive for more general grocery shopping, Tesco Express, Lidl and Sainsburys are a relatively close 20 minute walk and if you live on campus, supermarket delivery such as ASDA is easily available. I lived in the Courtyard for my first year and it's a nice place to live. I shall be returning to the Courtyard for my second year. And whilst I haven't lived in any of the other university-owned accommodation, I've heard good things about both Taylor Court and Westfield. Overall, the University of Hull is both a great university to study at as well as a great, comfortable place to live. I would definitely recommend.

Reviewed: 25 March 2022
A
Amy
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Criminology BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

It’s in a really cheap city, and it’s not so big you get lost easily. The campus is pretty small which I love, and there’s plenty to do near campus or a short bus ride away. It could be improved with student support, especially in later years. Also a lot of things on campus are really expensive.

Reviewed: 21 March 2022
JW
Jordan WIndram
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Music BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

The course was fantastic and so were the lecturers, however the student union did not help students during accommodation crisis

Reviewed: 21 March 2022
IK
Isabelle Kears
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Biomedical Science BSc (Hons)

University rating (3)

UNI is overall okay

Reviewed: 19 March 2022
I
Imtenaan
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
2 reviews
SECOND YEAR
University rating (4)

It's a great place to study because hull is a quiet city and it's very calming. Also the university campus is huge and the library has many study rooms to study in and just multiple study spaces available, if you want to change your environment to work in. However would could be improved with the university is the support, as students have to take time out to fill out forms and wait a couple of days to get a response or there mis communication.

Reviewed: 15 March 2022
CT
Chloe Thompson
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MSc (Research) Health Studies

University rating (4)

The accommodation is good and affordable

Reviewed: 11 March 2022
PG
Panashe Goremusandu
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Biomedical Science BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

There’s a lot of accommodation surrounding the university so owned by University quarter and other private landlords so regardless of whether you’re staying on or off campus you’re close by and at most a 15min walk away The university of Hull is in a quiet town not thats not as active as a bigger universities but has a great sense of community especially when it comes to international students the university is very accommodating. If you’re ever struggling or need support the lecturers are really welcoming and the student union is very helpful and will support you or give you any information you need. The only thing I would complain about is the Town of Hull - in terms of not having much to do however that’s my personal preference since I’m from Birmingham which has quite a lot going on.

Reviewed: 10 March 2022
AL
Aimee Last
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Sport Rehabilitation BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

Amazing help from lecturers, always message back quickly and available for meetings. A lot of online work is given meaning there’s a lot of information to help me learn. Access to free resources through university accounts. Not too much of a big campus so it’s easy to find my way around. Good resources and massive library meaning you can always get a computer or table to study on. Everyone is lovely and helpful. A lot of extra clubs you can join and multiple sport clubs which all come with social nights. A lot of social media coverage so you’re always up to date on what’s happening. Wetherspoons on campus and a club which are both affordable. A good place to make new friends.

Reviewed: 09 March 2022
J
Jasmine
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Criminology with Forensic Science BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

Great friendly people and staff, courses are interesting and engaging

Reviewed: 09 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards