/
/
University of Manchester

1,477 University of Manchester reviews

Our collection of real, honest student reviews of unis and courses is the largest in the UK, and help you make well-informed decisions about your future. Student reviews also form the basis of our annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards(WUSCAs), which highlight great work carried out by institutions for their students.
2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4)
  • University of Manchester
MS
Maha Stephen
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Pharmacy with a Foundation Year MPharm (Hons)

University rating (3)

I think overall I can’t talk too much about student life at Manchester because I personally haven’t been able to make any friends from Uni. That might be because I travel quite a distance to get to uni and so I don’t get time to hang around after lectures, however in my foundation year I did stay in Manchester and so I think there wasn’t enough opportunities from the university to make friends easily and now mid year it seems to be impossible. I do like how the campus is set out and how efficient and useful the facilities are. I do know that student life is quite good in the sense of clubs and societies however every society I have been interested in has not be running perhaps post COVID

Reviewed: 19 March 2022
RY
Rebecca Yeates
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Adult Nursing BNurs (Hons)

University rating (5)

Great city, huge campus with soo many facilities. Lecturers are either great or awful though.

Reviewed: 17 March 2022
HW
Hannah Walton
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MSc Biomedical Egyptology

University rating (4)

The University of Manchester definitely has great facilities that students have access to such as support, academically and/or in terms of wellbeing. I feel that there could be more support for students who are living and studying off-campus by including them in events - e.g. virtual events/societies - and ensuring that they are able to access the same facilities and support that on-campus students can access.

Reviewed: 16 March 2022
GH
Gavin Heggie
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Information Technology Management for Business (ITMB) BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

I think the course is super useful and the lecturer we have a deep knowledge base and are passionate about their respective subjects

Reviewed: 15 March 2022
AV
Aryan V
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Physics BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

Living at home for the first year and the uni really made adapting to uni life extremely easy- strong support for students of all backgrounds. Excellent physics department with a good spread of lecturers. A lot of nice clubs and restaurants and the student like is the best of any university in the U.K. par London.

Reviewed: 15 March 2022
RH
Rosie Howard
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Accounting and Finance BAECOM

University rating (4)

Great staff with a variety of different teaching techniques, with incredible communication and support to ensure we are doing our best

Reviewed: 12 March 2022
K
Kayley
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Pharmacology with Industrial/Professional Experience (4 years) BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

The location of the university is very convenient with good transport links to accommodation and into the city. The lecturers are passionate about what they teach and offer loads of resources and time to help. Due to COVID-19 a lot of learning is still being done online so they could improve on moving more lectures to in person.

Reviewed: 09 March 2022
MK
Manushri Karwa
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Biochemistry with Industrial/Professional Experience (4 years) BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

Once you make friends and have people you genuinely like, exploring and going out in this city is phenomenal. It was hard making friends at first because of the accommodation I was placed in, however, things have improved. The University has some amazing facilities and there’s so much to explore. Everything’s basically on a straight road and there’s absolutely no way you can get lost in my opinion. One thing that could be better however is more in-person lectures/sessions. I understand COVID has changed a lot in these past two years but I’d like to see a more interaction.

Reviewed: 09 March 2022
UO
Uyi Okunbor
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Civil Engineering MEng (Hons)

University rating (4)

Manchester is a great student town and there’s so much to do. Fast paced but still leaves space to breathe. Probably my favourite city ever.

Reviewed: 09 March 2022
EA
Erin Alexander
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Law with Politics LLB (Hons)

University rating (4)

Lecturers are really supportive, a lot of buildings need updating.

Reviewed: 08 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards