/
/
University of East Anglia UEA

1,729 University of East Anglia UEA reviews

The annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards (WUSCAs) highlight the incredible work carried out by institutions for their students. This year’s awards were based on reviews from over 30,000 students across the UK.

2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.2)
  • University of East Anglia UEA
L
Liberty
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Psychology with a Year Abroad BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

UEA is in such a lovely area and the campus is absolutely beautiful. It has pretty much everything you could need on campus, and has good transport links for buses and coaches, and it's one bus ride away from Norwich train station. I haven't had much experience with the student support services but I've heard from friends that they're pretty good. The uni was pretty good with COVID precautions, with vaccinations being available on campus as well as free testing. At times it's apparent that it is a company and it could do with remembering that its main priority should be its students and staff over making money for the VC, but overall I'm happy here and I wouldn't change my decision.

Reviewed: 25 April 2022
L
Luke
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Biochemistry BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

Overall, UEA is a very solid uni with good teaching, engaging lessons and good quality teaching labs. A particular highlight of the services UEA provides is the outstanding Student Services department which has helped me immensely throughout my course (doubtless it has helped many others too) with problems ranging from personal to academic. Another standout is the maths helpdesk as everyone there is incredibly friendly and helpful and can help you learn any maths topic, from GCSE to A-level and up, regardless of which course you're on. If I had to give a downside, I'd say that the architecture is some of the blandest this side of the USSR and the On-Campus food offerings are not great value for money. As well as this, certain lecturers can be particularly slow to upload lecture slides and the quality of your academic advisor varies from individual to individual (although they are generally incredibly helpful and responsive).

Reviewed: 06 April 2022
EG
Emily Gasparro
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Psychology BSc (Hons)

University rating (3)

It is a great place to study in terms of the campus facilities and activities on offer. There is so much to get involved in whatever your interests may be. There is a good bus network into the city, but it would do with being easier to access, such as better parking options on campus. There is also a lot of walking required as it's a very large campus which is difficult for a lot of people with disabilities.

Reviewed: 06 April 2022
MC
Mateo Cantor
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Pharmacology and Drug Discovery BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

I’ve really enjoyed my time here. The campus is massive and is built I’ve a beautiful landscape. it’s in a city that’s relatively small so everything is near you. Student life is good people here are very chill but inside they played better music in the popular clubs.support is given but you have to really struggle to get it which is not great. The facilities are very well equipped and taken care off. There is always technical support if something goes wrong. If you do sciences you will love the labs.

Reviewed: 31 March 2022
EP
Erwin Pardo Toledo
Aged 25-34 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR
University rating (4)

Norwich, the university's place is quiet and relaxed, for instance, it is ideal for focusing and studying, giving you a relaxation sensation. In addition, the UEA campus is surrounded by parks and a lake, giving you a perfect place to go in-depth in your study period without worrying about the noisy and stressful moments of big cities. In addition, UEA offers a great team of well-being and teaching supporters; for instance, you can get advice and help in different circumstances. If there is something to improve at UEA is the module contents. I've been working for 8 years abroad, and I found them very theoretical and, most of the time, don't are related to real job experience. Maybe a short-term solution is implementing more workshops proposed by external organizations interested in hiring students.

Reviewed: 30 March 2022
KS
Katie South
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

MSc Physiotherapy

University rating (3)

Best aspects are the placements provided. Worst aspects are changing the timetable and not making the students aware. As well as not asking students opinions on online/face to face teaching

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
BS
Beatrice Sleigh-Johnson
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

International Development BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

The lake is beautiful and the people are lovey, they understood my dyslexia and help me in ways I need.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
LW
Lizi Williams
Aged 25-34 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Physiotherapy BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

I feel the support for disabilities and SpLD is of a high standard and the university is accessible for mature students. There are lots of opportunities to get involved and a great mature student/post grad bar! The food is expensive for a student based campus and is not of a high enough quality to explain the price. Attendance is an issue this year and I think more could be done to reach out to individuals to explain expectations for behaviour, rather than a blanket approach.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
S
Sophia
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Biomedicine BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

It is a great balance between a campus and city uni. Living on campus first year is definitely the way to go, I met some great friends in my accommodation and campus in the summer is beautiful. It is a very industrial looking university, but for the sciences the new science block is modern and nice to work in. The campus has good links to the city through bus services that only take 10-15 minutes. The city is lovely and friendly too! The only thing that is negative I have heard from friends is the lack of support in the pharmacology course. They have effectively had open university in the last year (after covid restrictions have been lifted and most courses are back to being in person) expected to teach themselves with very little in person teaching.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
J
Jasmine
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

English Literature with Creative Writing BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

The general campus has everything you need, and accessibility is excellent (both on campus and to local amenities/transport to city centre). The university has a friendly and approachable feel, and the staff have always been ready to help and support me through my course. There has been a small issue of marks not being returned on time or the date of returned marks being pushed back, and this could be improved.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards