/
/
University Centre Myerscough

10 University Centre Myerscough reviews

Our collection of real, honest student reviews of unis and courses is the largest in the UK, and help you make well-informed decisions about your future. Student reviews also form the basis of our annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards(WUSCAs), which highlight great work carried out by institutions for their students.
2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(3.6)
  • University Centre Myerscough
T
theresa green
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Animal Studies Foundation Certificate

University rating (1)

Staff are often rude, animal care students treated like free labour spending most of our practical time cleaning out animal cages. Have been told off for being 1 minute late and students have been left behind on occasion because there was a queue for the toilets. We are constantly promised opportunities that aren’t presented. Powerpoints are filled with outdated or incorrect information and typos. Proper support is not provided for students with disabilities, eg being made to walk down the road to the farm, not having a learning inclusion staff member present. The only good bit is the wide variety of animals, but you’ll probably be in rodents or birds every week so you won’t see them anyway.

Reviewed: 13 January 2022
M
Max
1 review

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (4)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

Good, I enjoyed my classes in the first year and I am enjoying my placement now. I am well supported by my placement officer and can access further help if i needed it. Wish the money situation was better.

Reviewed: 16 December 2018
L
Laura
1 review

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (4)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

Good, I have not stayed for a whole academic year as our course has placement weeks. Although the time I have been at uni it was great, made really good friends and learned so much. The facilities are great, the library is good although it could be bigger.

Reviewed: 05 December 2018
A
Anelia
1 review

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

Enjoyable and learning plenty. Staff are helpful. Lessons can be long but a lot of information is given. The amount of learning resources provided are excellent! Lots of work to learn off in your own time and use for revision. Any problems someone is always there to help. Enjoyable course and something I’m really enjoying!

Reviewed: 04 December 2018
S
Siobhan
1 review

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

It's been really good. There have been really interesting lectures. As well as this the social evenings and extra curricular activities make fpr a great balance between work and downtime.

Reviewed: 04 December 2018
A
Alysha
1 review

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

So far my university experiences have been amazing. I’ve met lots of friends for life and enjoyed learning at Myerscough. The staff and accommodation is lovely.

Reviewed: 04 December 2018
L
Liam
1 review

Cricket Coaching and Performance FdSc

University rating (4)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

The course didn’t do a lot for me and think it was poorly run. But I understand that it was new and everything takes time to establish. The social side was a fantastic experience as I’m sure anyone would say!

Reviewed: 18 December 2017
A
Anonymous
32440 reviews

Animal Behaviour and Welfare BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

I'm currently studying BSc animal behaviour and welfare at Myerscough, the campus is lovely and the lecturers are all really understanding and helpful. The only downfalls are that the location isn't close to the town centre so it can be difficult to get to shops if you don't drive (there are buses though).

Reviewed: 12 January 2015
A
Anonymous
32440 reviews

Veterinary Nursing FdSc

University rating (2)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

I would not recommend Myerscough College to anyone. If you are choosing here as your uni place - don't. Awful uni experience, nonexistent actually. Perhaps if you are a big chav (as most people here are) you would enjoy here but that's about it. The teaching is ok. But student support is extremely poor. I am on a placement year at the moment and trying to get in contact with the placement team is impossible as 90% of the time they are on holiday or just fancy taking weeks to reply to you which is just so useful when you're struggling and have no one to turn to. Thanks Myerscough for wasting thousands of my student finance and ruining 3 years of my life! The accommodation is revolting for the amount you pay for it and a complete waste of money. But then Myerscough knows its got you cos where else can you go…? Myerscough is handily located in the middle of nowhere so expect your student experience to be hugely limited unless you are satisfied with walking down the long long road to the only thing nearby; the local chippy. Forgot joining any clubs unless you fancy the trek down to uclan about 3 miles away and £7 on the bus. Yes, that's right £7! (and that's just a single) The swimming club at uclan is about the only thing that made my time at Myerscough bearable. I wish I had gone to another university because this one has just wasted my time. I will be very lucky if I manage to graduate next year.

Reviewed: 15 August 2014
A
Anonymous
32440 reviews

Professional Floristry and Floral Design FdA

University rating (1)
Tell us about your overall college experience so far.

Absolutely awful. I was on a floristry course and its impossible to achieve your best as the goalposts are continuously moving. The rules are bent and broken by tutors all the time, asking for extra above what is in the brief and deducting marks if you don't add in the verbal extras. Also the course costs a fortune, each week spending lots of money only to receive half dead or not enough flowers to work with. The assignments also cost alot of money, demanding you fill spaces of upto 2m x 2m with flowers. There is no end of year show to speak of, only a cobbled together low budget catwalk show. Accomodation at myerscough is poor at best and very overpriced, nothing works and there are heavy fines for anything that breaks. The student on site bar is dire, barely anyone attends and even then by 11 the place is empty as the under 18s are kicked out. The onsite shop is stocked with processed nasty food at extortionate prices and if you dont have a car, you had better run for that asda bus which may not even run and if it does, you can get on based on how far from college you come from, rather than if you have a car or not or if you have a meal plan or not. Access to preston is dire and expensive with a taxi being £20 and a one way bus ticket from the next village (a long walk) being £5.

Reviewed: 28 May 2014
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards