/
/
SOAS University of London

754 SOAS University of London reviews

The annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards (WUSCAs) highlight the incredible work carried out by institutions for their students. This year’s awards were based on reviews from over 30,000 students across the UK.

2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.1)
  • SOAS University of London
RO
Rana Osman
1 review
THIRD YEAR

PhD in Law

University rating (2)

There are brilliant scholars at SOAS. Unfortunately, the institution is poorly managed, if at all. Students are not supported nor are there enough resources for students. There are always issues of delay, short staff or basic misfunctioning at any given day. The institution is heavily understaffed. There does not seem to be a quality assurance team. Things move very slow which result in the student spending a massive amount of time away from research to chase basic admin procedures. Transparency is not apparent nor effective. Heavy bureaucracy + understaffed institution.

Reviewed: 05 April 2022
SJ
Serena Jeshani
1 review
FIRST YEAR

LLB Law (Senior Status) LLB (Hons)

University rating (1)

Worst aspects is the facilities

Reviewed: 30 March 2022
CM
Charlotte Mann
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MSc Migration Mobility and Development

University rating (4)

SU, student activism, improved with better administrative and more emotionally aware support staff.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
L
Lisa
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MSc Politics of Asia

University rating (4)

Since I studied during the pandemic, I can't really speak of student life - hence only 3 stars. I know that outside of the pandemic, SOAS has a very active student life. I really enjoyed my courses and felt always welcome to attend office hours with my professors; maybe that's due to the comparably small size of my major.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
MT
Maya Torrens
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Linguistics and Social Anthropology BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

Soas has a great community feel but needs to do more to support students, and do more to make student voices heard

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
AS
Anna Samuel
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

International Relations and Chinese BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

The best part is the lecturers, they're really passionate and knowledgeable and encourage us to be critical The worst part is the admin, it is impossible to get things sorted quickly, and the university is facing lots of cuts which is ruining our education

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
TS
Ting Sian Liu
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MA Gender Studies

University rating (3)

SOAS would be better if the admin is stronger

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
N
Nicol
2 reviews
FOURTH YEAR+

Chinese BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

professors are very understandable and helping so don’t hesitate to reach them out if you are struggling with the course.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
RS
Rachit Shah
1 review
FIRST YEAR

MSc Environment, Politics and Development

University rating (4)

Best: the course material Worst: quality of student cohort

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
SG
Ségolène Goulet
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

International Relations and Chinese BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

Great experience at SOAS but student support needs to be improved especially for those on their year abroad

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards