/
/
Leeds Conservatoire

158 Leeds Conservatoire reviews

The annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards (WUSCAs) highlight the incredible work carried out by institutions for their students. This year’s awards were based on reviews from over 30,000 students across the UK.

2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4)
  • Leeds Conservatoire
BJ
Becca John
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Acting BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

The school is very accommodating for all abs offer many opportunities for students to view and share each other’s talents and skills! A warm and welcoming environment surrounds you in the city of Leeds - there’s always something do to, eat or drink!!!

Reviewed: 24 March 2022
DR
Dom Ritchie
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Music (Popular with Production) BA (Hons)

University rating (3)

The tutors and facilities are all good. The city of Leeds is a great place to be a musician with lots of opportunities and events happening. Sometimes the course can feel like college or lower school, particularly on the popular group study module where you are put into bands. They give you a series of tasks that can feel that they aren’t relevant.

Reviewed: 12 March 2022
O
Olivia Robinson
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Acting BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

Great place to study and embrace the creativity across all paths of study! Although smaller than the majority of universes it’s bustling with creativity and talent. Lectures who are industry professionals and always go the extra mile. The new acting and musical theatre courses are exceptional breaking drama school stereotypes creating an accessible experience for all.

Reviewed: 18 January 2022
EB
Ellie Bishop
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Music Production (Top-up) BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

The fact that I am constantly surrounded by young people who have a strong passion for music. It’s very inspiring walking down the corridors and hearing everyone practising and creating. We also have access to amazing facilities and equipment. It could be improved by there being more ways for people from different course and pathways to meet each other and collaborate on work.

Reviewed: 21 December 2021
HG
Helena Green
1 review
FIRST YEAR
University rating (5)

The environment and general vibe of the Conservatoire is super relaxed, and makes you feel at ease. The lessons are generally really interesting and allow for a great foundation for you to build off of. You get plenty of time for assignments, and the mental health team are all super helpful and down to earth. The location is fairly close to the centre of town, and all the community spaces are very nice, with decently priced coffee and snacks in the Cafe Bar, and a great library with good individual study spaces.

Reviewed: 18 December 2021
AT
Alex Thomas
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Acting BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

A large variety of unique and creative courses so you meet all manner of talented students. The facilities are a little outdated and the performing arts cohorts need more space.

Reviewed: 18 December 2021
BW
Beth Winteringham
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Music (Classical) BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

Love the overall vibe of the uni, however there is a huge lack of organisation within the SU and between students and faculty.

Reviewed: 17 December 2021
AT
Abbey Thomas
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Music (Folk, Roots and Blues) BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

Leeds Conservatoire is really inclusive and friendly. The tutors are all incredibly talented in a wide variety of different areas, as are the students, and everyone is more than happy to help you learn whatever you'd like to from them. The facilities are great, including a great instrument department (for you to borrow kit and instruments), and multiple Mac labs, practice rooms and band rooms. The courses are really practical and applicable to what you want to learn, and there are loads of performance opportunities.

Reviewed: 17 December 2021
TD
Tasha Dowd
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Actor Musician BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

Having begun my degree during the pandemic, I think the course leader of my degree did a stellar job of providing educational content via online lectures without making us do something as ridiculous as a show/shared performance via zoom. I've had master classes with Coleman Domingo, Isobel McArthur, Aaron Posner and working with multiple theatre companies and/or their creative control members like The Letter Room, New Victorians and Darren Clark. I understand as a result the fortunate position I was in, especially compared to my friends studying at different degrees that felt completely in the dark about their own training and work by comparison of how much contact time there was despite the limitations in place. I think at times the work load feels very intense in comparison to the other degrees as a result of the nature of the degree. For example we just spent 2 weeks working on the 1st act of an Actor Muso panto that wasn't being assessed to share, and immediately went into a 4 week project for a full length production that the Acting degree had 6 weeks to prepare. Given we're playing live music as well as composing original score, on top of the acting aspects of the shows (and mostly 12 hours days), we're all rather tired. As much as the panto was informative and fun, both intensive projects one immediately after the other has left us very tired.

Reviewed: 17 December 2021
LG
Lucy Goodfellow
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Music (Business) BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

Overall, my university experience has been tainted by COVID, which obviously couldn't be helped, but I have still enjoyed my time for the most part. The location is great as it's close to the city centre, across the road from the bus station and only a 10-15 minute walk from the station! Being next to the BBC and across from The Wardrobe is also a plus. Student support is an interesting one, as I haven't had any need to use the Health & Wellbeing team until this year, however have heard very negative feedback from the majority of students I've spoken to. I believe they do try their best to support the students, however sometimes it may not be the correct help that the students need. Support from lecturers can vary depending on the course however I feel like I have had great support throughout my academic years. The Students' Union and student life could be improved at Leeds Conservatoire. Being a part of the Students' Union myself, I have an understanding of the inner workings, and it majorly needs revamping and needs people at the helm that are passionate about their job, and are willing to put in the hours. Student life is good at Leeds Conservatoire when looking at the community and facilities like the cafe bar, and the fifth floor. These are great places to hang out and meet people. Also the events that are put on in the city centre (either run by LC or marketed on behalf of someone else) are usually great.

Reviewed: 16 December 2021
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards