/
/
Bristol, University of the West of England

1,134 Bristol, University of the West of England reviews

The annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards (WUSCAs) highlight the incredible work carried out by institutions for their students. This year’s awards were based on reviews from over 30,000 students across the UK.

2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.1)
  • Bristol, University of the West of England
JF
Jonathan Fitzpatrick
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Building Surveying BSc (Hons)

University rating (3)

The student Union Bar is oddly built and I would argue not fit for purpose, poor atmosphere dissuades visiting although the food is reasonable. Walking around campus there are many class rooms that appear to be very poorly utilised, low flexibility in design so many are left unoccupied at what appears to be a permanent basis. That being said its very easy to find an empty room for the day to study in although security will tend to displace you come 6pm or so. Signage is a little odd but they are currently updating them. Canteen prices are rather high for some items, healthy options are not at all subsidised and fatty foods remain cheaper on the whole. Student Union shop is overpriced for basic essentials including women's sanitary (So I'm told) Large swathes of UWE require refurbishment externally, many instances of asbestos are present in the older UWE buildings and its surprising easy to access many parts of UWE you probably shouldn't be, cupboards left unlocked, dry risers ect. strange designs alterations such as suspended ceilings covering roof lights and the like make the older structures very odd. All in all could use a reskin for many areas, many services remain closed such as UWE IT foundry Activities, CPD and other events are poorly advertised across UWE recommend the use of more video or digital displays across UWE where data allows it. Same goes for Student support with notices in large A1 format would be beneficial at key foot traffic positions such as by the UWE library ground floor which remains a mostly unused space outside of open days and registration. Below the library E specifically the large tunnel area is a poor use of space considering the relatively small amount of circulation through it. a short cut past the block once the old engineering block is demolished to the bus depot would be very welcome. UWE library services are very good, teacher support equally the faculty are great but often difficult to get a hold of and roughly one module a year will be poorly run but otherwise its pretty well tuned. Additional guidance for Year two students for placement years would be appreciated by most of those I've spoken to.

Reviewed: 03 April 2022
TC
Toya Chavez-Heredia
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Politics and International Relations BA (Hons)

University rating (3)

Good opportunities of going abroad, not enough funding for non-British students and limited student support.

Reviewed: 30 March 2022
AM
Amro Mahmoud
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Computer Science BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

UWE is a nice uni, it has a really nice big library with multiple floors and a huge variation of books. There are 2 student union shops which makes it convenient to get things at ease, although sometimes they are very overpriced. The location of the university is great. Bristol isn't too big nor is it too small, there's alot of great places and things you can do in bristol. The location of the university in bristol is also great, it's right next to Stoke Park Estate which has a duck pond, it's great for relieving some stress and getting some fresh air. It's also close to Cheswick Village which a cosy little area with alot of nice shops and restaurants. The campus itself is big enough for there to be alot of fun places to visit. The student union shops as mentioned before is sometimes overpriced but is very convenient. Overall the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, I enjoy my time at UWE and looking forward to the next couple years.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
TK
Tasmim Karim Raisa
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Bar Training Course LLM/PGDip

University rating (5)

Best aspect- lovely people, lovely campus, great facilities & support system! Worst aspect- nothing!

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
MQ
mira qatami
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Facade Engineering MSc

University rating (5)

the best aspect is that the uni supports mental health and personal wellness worst is that it is a bit expensive

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
SB
Sona Binoy
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Business Management MSc

University rating (5)

Getting more opportunities in co- curriculum activities make it such a good place to study. By arranging a overall meet up we can improve this changes

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
IB
Isabelle Bedevian
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Fine Art MA

University rating (4)

I love the facilities on Bower Ashton, and the beautiful scenery around it. I just wish it could be more acknowledged by the university as much as Frenchay campus. Frenchay has a lot more events going on everyday and has better transportation links which go directly to campus whereas Bower Ashton doesnt at all.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
N
noor
Aged 25-34 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Software Engineering for Business BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

Good facilities to ensure nice environment for studies . Less students in class helping us to collaborate more with each other . If a student is not eligible for maintenances loan from student finance then they are not eligible for any financial help from university . This system should be changed. For some student who has residential status under EU settlement scheme ,they can not get maintenances loan until they have settled status but they are getting tuition fee loan only from student finance . Now he or she is already struggling with financial crisis and University is also not allowed to help that student due to his residential status ! This should be taken into consideration by the university. I am a student career and I have only pre settle status .I am not eligible for any grant or bursaries from university until I have my settle status which I have already applied for. But home office is taking long time for the process . I have already contacted my Local MP. But home office said there is no time scale when they will conclude my visa application . Also my last application took 18 months to process! This whole situation is really frustrating for me .

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
DO
David Omboto
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Transport Engineering and Planning MSc

University rating (4)

Best thing is you get very good support from the lecturers. Additionally, the IT system makes learning so convenient even if you were not able to attend a class you can still watch the lectures in your blackboard, and contact the lecturers via the email and even organize a meeting. The worst experience, was getting an accomodation is a problem . The uni should find a way to accommodate most students especially international students who do not know there way around Bristol.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
WC
WAN CHUNG LAM
Aged 35-44 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Building Information Modelling (BIM) in Design Construction and Operations MSc

University rating (4)

First of all, pursuing a postgraduate degree course in a foreign country was not an easy decision for an international student. However, I would NOT regret taking this decision as the UK education gives me a 180-degree completely different education experience in which it is about inspiring & encouraging people to do what they are interested in and enthusiastic about, rather than asking students to memorize things that they could hardly use in their lifetime. Postgraduate study at the University of the West of England (UWE) Bristol is so amazing that not only did I have the chance to acquire new knowledge about Building Information Modelling (BIM) in the Architectural Engineering and Construction (AEC) Industry in the UK but also a very precious opportunity to make reflections on myself, including my character and future career. Besides studying for my MSc degree in BIM in Design Construction and Operations, I am also a student ambassador for the Digital Engineering Technology and Innovation (DETI) programme at UWE Bristol. Through participating in this meaningful programme, not only I have the chance of contributing to society using the knowledge that I had learnt from my engineering background but also re-discovering myself such that I am now having innovative ideas about my future career. In addition, I am much appreciated that UWE Bristol has invested much in assisting students not only in supporting students’ academic studies and future careers but also in providing a wide range of part-time job opportunities such that students can develop new skills and explore new experiences. For instance, the UWE library support is so heart-warming and comprehensive that in addition to the 24/7 online live chat with a librarian and a variety of study skills workshops, the library also offers one-to-one support for students having difficulties in their academic studies including but not limited to study skills and English support. Furthermore, the UWE Career Centre also offers a variety of activities in helping students secure a job after graduating, such as the innovative “UWE Handshake” which is an online job-searching platform for candidates to interact with their potential employers. Hence, UWE Bristol is extraordinarily strong in supporting students’ academic studies and providing career advice. On the other hand, UWE Bristol is also looking after students’ health and well-being. The UWE Sports Department is offering a wide range of sports activities, such as climbing, cycling, swimming, yoga, and so on for students to choose from. Moreover, the UWE Wellbeing service provides students with a safe place to talk about their problems related to well-being. Therefore, UWE Bristol is a wonderful place to study because it is providing a safe environment for students to seek help with different types of problems and issues. Nevertheless, I have experienced an issue where the university was hard to help with, and it was about students’ accommodation. As an international student, I was very worried that I was staying in a hotel (which is awfully expensive!) before I could rent a house in the southern part of Bristol. Honestly, it was quite frustrating that I needed to spend time looking for private accommodations in the city of Bristol and unfortunately, it has also affected my progress in studies in my previous term. Because of this, it is highly recommended for the Bristol City Council or the UWE Estates to consider building more students’ accommodations and allocating them to international students with higher priority. Conclusively, I still think UWE Bristol is an amazing place to study, not only because it is offering students a safe place to study and think independently but it is providing a space for students to chase their passion and dreams. Therefore, I would definitely recommend students who are considering pursuing a postgraduate study to explore on oneself to consider the various programmes at UWE Bristol.

Reviewed: 29 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards