/
/
Bournemouth University

1,048 Bournemouth University reviews

Our collection of real, honest student reviews of unis and courses is the largest in the UK, and help you make well-informed decisions about your future. Student reviews also form the basis of our annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards(WUSCAs), which highlight great work carried out by institutions for their students.
2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.1)
  • Bournemouth University
DO
Dionne Oliver
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Paramedic Science BSc (Hons)

University rating (3)

Bournemouth is an amazing location to go to university, the beach so close by and plenty of student housing to choose from. Student life is also good, with some great bars and clubs in the centre of Bournemouth as well as a bit further out. The new campus for health and social science is amazing, the facilities and equipment available for learning are great. As the student support system has changed, I have found it not as easy to access, however staff are friendly and helpful. Organisation of the uni is also a little off at times which can be difficult when trying to plan around placements and other commitments. As a whole BU is great and I would definitely recommend to other students.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
L
Luke
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Business & Management (Top-up) BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

I love this university. The lifestyle, the bars / clubs, the campus is new, the support is great and the campus for accommodation is close to town. Easy bus access between campus’ and frequent. It really felt like home as soon as I visited on open day. I had offers from better unis but could just see myself living here and don’t regret it at all. In the summer months Bournemouth is the best place to be in the UK easily.

Reviewed: 28 March 2022
SJ
sama jasem
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Law LLB (Hons)

University rating (3)

it’s a lovely city and it’s so nice after university to go to the beach and unwind however the student counselling facilities need to be improved as they don’t email about it

Reviewed: 25 March 2022
ZF
Zoe Frain
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Business & Management BA (Hons)

University rating (5)

Lecturers all have accents which makes is so difficult to understand and learn. They also never reply to emails. Some are really good but most are really bad and read off slides the whole time. Pretty place to study with the beach and campus is nice. To improve make lectures not read off slides to explain in more detail what they are talking about and when we have an exam make sure there’s a practice exam and weekly quizzes.

Reviewed: 25 March 2022
CH
Charlie Hardy
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Marketing Communications with Advertising BA (Hons)

University rating (3)

from the SU they’re more focussed on voting for who’s in charge as opposed to what’s best for the people and it’s draining

Reviewed: 24 March 2022
OA
Obi Acreman
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Psychology with Counselling BSc (Hons)

University rating (1)

I like the location and the night life is good, the accom is also pretty nice and the facilities are fairly good. However I have found the student support to be significantly lacking to the point where it's ruined everything for me. I've received no help as a consequence I've fallen very far behind in my studies.

Reviewed: 23 March 2022
KE
kate everitt
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Adult Nursing (with Foundation Year) BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

At the university, there is an amazing and modern library facility on the lansdowne campus which is open 24 hours, 7 days a week. If you are about the social life, there’s plenty of clubs and bars for you to enjoy including the old fire station which is university affiliated, giving you the best drink prices. If the social life isn’t for you, there plenty of places to eat in the BH2, indoor golf, the cinema, and most importantly the beach! This next factor definitely applies if you are thinking about moving into halls, as there is something called ResLife. It’s also run in partnership with the university bringing fun activities to your chosen uni accommodation. They also run trips outside of your accommodation, for example to the aquarium, pumpkin picking and christmas markets, all for less than 1/4 the average price!

Reviewed: 22 March 2022
NG
Nicole Glanville
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Criminology BA (Hons)

University rating (4)

Course is good but course building doesn’t have enough lecture halls

Reviewed: 21 March 2022
CH
Courtney Holmes
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Communication & Media BA (Hons)

University rating (3)

Best: work opportunities there (shops, bars, etc) Worst: lack of student support for mental health and financial problems

Reviewed: 20 March 2022
JP
Joe Payne
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Product Design BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

It's a really great uni with lots of opportunities but you have to work for it. Bournemouth is a great place that offers something for everyone.

Reviewed: 20 March 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards