/
/
Aston University, Birmingham

1,047 Aston University, Birmingham reviews

Our collection of real, honest student reviews of unis and courses is the largest in the UK, and help you make well-informed decisions about your future. Student reviews also form the basis of our annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards(WUSCAs), which highlight great work carried out by institutions for their students.
2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.1)
  • Aston University, Birmingham
KW
Katie White
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Law LLB LLB (Hons)

University rating (5)

Aston is a small campus which means everything is within close reach. The Students Union has lots of clubs and societies and is extremely inclusive. I was involved in a number of clubs and I really enjoyed my experiences.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
SV
Socrates Viegas
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Engineering and Applied Science Foundation Programme BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

It is located at Birmingham city centre, which means there are plenty of places to eat during the breaks in between lectures and lessons. The tutors are really down to earth and instead of proudly explaining everything in detail, they aren't afraid to mention things they don't know, it boosts my confidence and really connects with me as a student striving to have as much knowledge as my tutors.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
I
Insung
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Human Resource Management MSc

University rating (5)

Convenient place and facilities in the city Reasonable tuition fee It would be great if accommodations renovate sustainable. Through solar panel on the roof interior, fee, etc

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
SA
Simrat Aujla
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Pharmacy MPharm (Hons)

University rating (4)

The new addition of independent study space for me has been where I’ve spent the majority of my time at uni this year. There’s a variety of study environments for you to figure out what works for you. The main building is open 24 hours in case you are a night owl and like to study at night.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
AH
Abdullah Husain
1 review
THIRD YEAR

Chemical Engineering BEng (Hons)

University rating (4)

You get to gain practical and applied engineering skills from every module. Studying chemical engineering at Aston covers every single aspect in the STEM major. You get to study and apply not only core Chemical Engineering modules, but also business management, economics, design, coding and even environmental science and renewable tech. Which will help you decide what you want to do/study after you finish your bachelors degree since you have experienced several aspects/modules related to the STEM major.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
MR
Mohammed Rahman
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Mathematics BSc (Hons)

University rating (4)

Very close to city centre, offers great support to students especially when it comes to looking for a placement. A downside is that the main building needs remodernising especially the south wing.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
W
Willr
Aged 18-24 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

International Business MSc

University rating (4)

Aston is in the centre of Birmingham and its possible to go from the nice campus scenery into the centre of the city in just a matter of steps. Its also only 10/ 15 minutes from both new street and Moor Street stations which is so easy for getting home.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
TJ
Tommy Jenkinson
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Mechanical Engineering BEng (Hons)

University rating (4)

I feel as though the staff support has been key at Aston and the engineering facilities have also been extremely efficient. The location is perfect, you are 2 minutes away from the city centre and perfect for transportation links. In terms of improvement I feel the library could be open 24 hours during the week for the early birds and course structure could be improved so assignments are more spaced apart.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
AB
Arifah Begum
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Biomedical Science BSc (Hons)

University rating (5)

Best thing about the uni is the location. For students living out everything is right on your doorstep. The campus has a lively fell especially during the summer time with students enjoying their last term.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
S
Sonia
Aged 18-24 years
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Forensic Linguistics MA

University rating (3)

Aston is good because it’s central to Birmingham and despite being small it has a very good SU and student clubs. It could be improved by having more study spaces all over campus with more places to hang out with friends.

Reviewed: 08 April 2022
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards