/
/
Al-Maktoum College of Higher Education

23 Al-Maktoum College of Higher Education reviews

Our collection of real, honest student reviews of unis and courses is the largest in the UK, and help you make well-informed decisions about your future. Student reviews also form the basis of our annual Whatuni Student Choice Awards(WUSCAs), which highlight great work carried out by institutions for their students.
2022 WUSCA winners

Student rating
This is the overall rating calculated by averaging all live reviews for this uni on Whatuni.
(4.8)
  • Al-Maktoum College of Higher Education
U-
Utami -
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Certificate in Arabic Language

University rating (5)

Nice to study in this college, I enjoyed the satisfying learning methods. I also impressed with the affective lecture, who care about us. Friendly and fast responses from the staff are so helpful.

Reviewed: 22 March 2022
AT
Alhassan Tahiru
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Advanced Diploma in Islamic Studies

University rating (3)

It is a great place to study for those who care about academic achievements and excellence. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. They are keen for your success and they actively try to cater for international students.

Reviewed: 11 March 2022
A
Abdihannan
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Professional Diploma in Islamic Banking & Finance

University rating (5)

I am extremely grateful to Al-maktoum College for giving me the opportunity to attend college. To date, my overall experience has been incredible, and it has given a lot of value to my life.

Reviewed: 11 March 2022
AS
abdullah salem
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Professional Diploma in Islamic Banking & Finance

University rating (4)

Good online sessions Needs better use of short videos to explain concepts.

Reviewed: 11 March 2022
AK
Abdul karim imuran
Aged 25-34 years
First gen student
1 review
FIRST YEAR

Professional Diploma in Islamic Banking & Finance

University rating (5)

Growing up in Ghana, a country which is a repository of rich and diverse cultures and with more than fifty indigenous tribes and languages, I have met people from all walks of life, an experience that has given me a privilege of learning a great deal of stuff but enrolling at Al-Maktoum college was a game-changer for me. Al-Maktoum college is one of the best places to study because it is a place where potential and ability is valued over background or ethnicity. The well-structured curriculum provides students with in-depth knowledge in whatever discipline they choose to study. The teaching staff are always willing to help students in whatever difficulties the student is facing, being it academic or personal. And they are always very understanding and supportive. The non-teaching staff have created a kind and comfortable environment in the college. You receive a reply within 24 hour whenever you send an email to any office.

Reviewed: 11 March 2022
AC
Alan Coady
Aged 45-54 years
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Certificate in Arabic Language

University rating (5)

Firstly, an explanation my 'star rating' choices. As an online-only student, there are factors which don't apply. However, leaving these unmarked lowers the final rating to two stars, which in no way reflects my time with Al-Maktoum College. In order to end up with the 5-star rating I feel the college deserves, I've had to give ratings to factors which are not part of my life e.g. Students' Union. What has made Al-Maktoum a great experience for me is the dedication of the two lecturers I have known. Their dedication is second-to-none as regards preparation of materials, speedy marking of homework, enthusiasm and sense of fun in class and willingness to be on hand for whatever extra help one needs, whether this be staying behind after class to answer questions; answering questions sent by email; providing useful feedback for every piece of homework marked. The stamina of the lecturers is something to behold. Before retiring, I was a teacher but had the luxury of changing students every 30 mins. Our lectures are, in comparison, huge in length - 3+ hours and, although a feat of concentration for a student, this is much more impressive from the lecturers who hold the reins. The materials provided by the department are excellent - and free! Although there is a recommended reading list for further study, we have not had to buy additional materials. The files are uploaded to Moodle and available for us to download, save, print etc throughout the course. This, I find, is also a good way of appreciating the overall architecture of the course, which would not be so evident in the first weeks, or even thereafter if the materials were replaced each week. The course is hugely stimulating and I'm more convinced than ever of the 'use-it-or-lose-it' benefits of intensive study for my 62-year-old brain. Moreover, the international mix of students on the course makes for a fun and stimulating environment in which to study.

Reviewed: 10 March 2022
MH
Mumtaz Hussain
1 review
SECOND YEAR

Certificate in Arabic Language

University rating (5)

This is my second year studying at Al-Maktoum College and both courses were studying Arabic as a Foreign Language. Unfortunately due to the pandemic a majority of the learning was online but that saying the lessons were still valuable. However I did manage to squeeze a few lessons in the college when restrictions were eased. The college and staff are very accommodating. Every time I had a query it was satisfactorily resolved with a good time scale. My lecturer is very passionate about teaching the subject and that is evident. Extra lessons were available, which I utilised and that was to encourage the student passing all aspects of the course and is a keen vision the college has. Dundee is a beautiful city and the location of Al-Maktoum college is central with Dundee University, the city centre, mosques and teaching hospitals all close by. I highly recommend studying at Al-Maktoum where you can gain a reputable high education qualification.

Reviewed: 10 March 2022
AP
Adam Payne
1 review
SECOND YEAR

HND in Business

University rating (5)

Al-Maktoum college is diverse and inclusive for all and provides students with an amazing advantage through in depth learning and continuous support. Small class sizes and attentive lecturers and staff put this college above the rest. I would say the only way it could improve is by advertising it’s course on a wider scale and explaining the benefits to a small class size.

Reviewed: 10 March 2022
J
Jaber
1 review
FIRST YEAR

HNC in Business

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall university experience so far.

My overall experience has been very positive. I've learned a lot so far and have met many good people. The college has a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which is conducive to better learning, in my opinion.

Reviewed: 10 February 2020
A
Anas
1 review
FOURTH YEAR+

Professional Diploma in Islamic Banking & Finance

University rating (5)
Tell us about your overall university experience so far.

As a matter of fact I really enjoyed the time I spent at the Al-Maktoum college and I am still having a good time. While doing my professional diploma I was able to sickbed potential areas I can further my education on and this is a memory I will continue to cherish. In general it was an unforgettable and sweet experience.

Reviewed: 10 February 2020
wusca logo

Whatuni Student Choice awards